AquaticTechTank.net

A forum dedicated to design and program aquatic tanks
It is currently Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:09 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Chloramine
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:26 pm
Posts: 2
This is my first post here, so if it's incorrectly placed, please let me know. Something I've started wondering about recently:
My tap water has chloramine, and I use Prime to prevent harm to my tanks. While Prime prevents the ammonia from harming fish, it does leave it available to bacteria to be broken down. This leads me to believe that the ammonia is also available to plants and algae. I've come up with three situations, which I think (from an algae perspective) are identical. I'm hoping that someone can provide some insight in to this:

A) Adding X PPM ammonia to a tank.
B) Adding X PPM ammonia to a tank, with the appropriate amount of Prime.
C) Adding an appropriate amount of chloramine to a tank, with Prime such that there is X PPM of bound ammonia in the tank.

Thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Chloramine
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:36 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:54 pm
Posts: 275
People have added small amounts ammonia in their tanks for a while. The only problem is that one little mistake and it could cause issues for fauna and algae. So it's not as safe as NO3.

My understanding of prime and others is that the chemical combines with ammonia or chloramine to make it a rather large molecule where it can't be absorb by fauna and I'd assume plants as well.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Chloramine
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:26 pm
Posts: 2
Perhaps it trickles it back into the system as the Prime decomposes then? I know that my API test still registers the ammonia after the addition of Prime, but it is gone later in the week (not sure how fast it goes), so it goes somewhere. The people at Seachem claim "Prime® converts ammonia into a safe, non-toxic form that is readily removed by the tank’s biofilter", so it's still available to bacteria unless they're twisting words.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Copyright 2noodles LLC 2012